Thanks, Dad. For being more than mom’s lover

Today as I was surfing the net I found something very weird. It was not a surprise. The surprise would be not to find something weird while looking around in the internet. But this was awkward beyond weird. It made me think. And as I don’t talk that much, I like to think a lot.

Hey, don’t come again with that argument that 1 year old kids can’t surf the net. Of course I can. And I do. And if you don’t believe just do the following exercise.

1. Seat a one year old infant on your lap. Did you do it? Ok.

2. Pull yourself close to a table where there’s a laptop. You don’t even have to turn it on. I bet the baby is already reaching for the keyboard and tapping it like it was the best thing ever. Right?

The reason it happens his because we (babies) want so much to be able to find all those exciting things you adults keep looking at. And usually you don’t allow us.

Ok, now you did the exercise, take your time to clean up the mess the kids made on your laptop and than come again to see what I was talking about.

Are you back? Good.

Just look at this

See? What do you think? It’s always good to read in the same sentence the words father, mother, daughter and love. It’s beautiful, right?

Not quite so! It’s is sooooooo limiting of the role of the fathers. And so diminishing of the mothers. Not to talk about the daughter herself!

If all my father did was loving my mother he wouldn’t be my father. He’d be her consort. On the other hand, this quote implies that moms just need to be loved by dads, and that’s all the caregiving (or at least the most important, according to the quote) dads have to do in the family.

And the daughters? Am I not entitled to something more than seeing my father nudge and fondle my mother?

Not to talk about the single-parent families. I guess they don’t even come into the equation when you’re thinking about something like this.

Well, I’m sure that’s not the intention of all those sharing this “beautiful” piece of art… but there’s where it ends.

Well, what do I know, right? I’m just a baby…

Leave a Reply

